Nine Months!

Another three months have gone by since my last post of this kind, so it’s time for a slightly indulgent round-up with my blog’s 9-month anniversary.

Since my last milestone (at the beginning of 2024) I’ve reviewed Altdorf: Crown of the Empire – a sourcebook I’ve been looking forward to for literally decades; one of my favourite 1st Edition compliations The Restless Dead (which features no less than three top-tier short adventures) and I’ve begun the long road of reviewing the 4th Edition “Director’s Cut” version of The Enemy Within campaign (with reviews of Enemy in Shadows and its Companion volume). I’ve also published my first non-WFRP review, of the Warlock! rules system.

I am especially delighted to have published two interviews with WFRP writers in the last few weeks: Alfred Nunez Jr (Dwarf expert and unofficial Warhammer mapper) and Simon Wileman (prolific 4th Edition contributor). I’ve got another interview coming soon, with Anthony Ragan – author of the original Marienburg sourcebook and contributor to lots of other publications in 1st, 2nd and 4th Edition WFRP. I’m incredibly grateful to all three for giving me their time in this way.

Games Workshop’s release of The Old World wargame has prompted me to wax nostalgic about my own experiences with the Warhammer battle game 30 years ago and consider what the announcement of The Old World RPG might portend.

Since the start of the year I’ve published 31,600 words across 18 posts, and the blog has received just over 8,200 views and over 2,800 visitors. I’ve noticed a significant uptick in visitors in the last 3 months, partly due to a number of bloggers who have been kind enough to link to this site – thanks in particular to MadAlfred, Awesome Lies and Kalevala Hammer. (And apologies if I’ve missed anyone.)

What lurks ’round the corner for this blog? Copyright Cubicle 7

In the immediate future, as well as the Anthony Ragan interview, I should have my review of Death on the Reik (4e version) and its Companion. I’m also intending to dip into the Grim Darkness of the Far FutureTM with a multi-part review of Warhammer 40,000: Wrath & Glory (also by Cubicle 7) and some of its adventures. Beyond that, there are more unread WFRP 4e publications on my (digital) shelf, and at some point I’ll finally begin my reviews of WFRP 2nd Edition products.

We’re not in Ubersreik anymore… Copyright Cubicle 7

I’ve continued to be active on the WFRP subReddit (who are a great bunch of people) and Twitter, as well as dipping my toes into Discord with the Ratcatcher’s Guild1 (also a great bunch of people).

Enormous thanks to everyone who has visited my blog and commented!

  1. Discord still makes me feel very, very old ↩︎

3 thoughts on “Nine Months!

  1. mrdidz

    Keep up the great work.

    I must, however, disagree with you regarding the Warhammer SubReddit. It was once a fantastic place for creative discussion, but my experience was soured by the lack of support I got from the moderator team. when I was verbally attacked by some coward using a fake identity.

    Despite submitting no fewer than five reports seeking moderator support, these attacks continuted unabated for almost two days and completely overlooked.

    Then, I was banned for attempting to defend myself. This experience left me with a bitter taste about that subreddit, even though most of its members are wonderful and highly creative.

    Like

Leave a comment